USDA Announces Additional Drought Funding

The USDA announces additional drought assisstance for 15 Alabama counties.

Secretary of Agriculture Mike Johanns will release an additional $735,000 dollars from the Emergency Conservation Program.

This funding will help farmers in Autauga, Bibb, Butler, Cherokee, Chilton, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dallas, DeKalb, Etowah, Hale, Lowndes, Marshall, Perry and St. Clair counties.

This emergency conservation assistance will help farmers rehabilitate their grazing land that has been damaged by the high heat and low rainfall that alabama has experience this summer.