Saban Inducted into Independence Bowl Hall of Honor

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (AP) - Alabama coach Nick Saban is a member of the Independence Bowl Hall of Honor.

Saban was inducted into the Hall Thursday night in Shreveport, La.

The Crimson Tide beat Colorado in last year's Independence Bowl.

Saban was one of three inducted.

The others were late Indiana and Miami (Ohio) coach Terry Hoeppner and former LSU quarterback Herb Tyler.

"We are thrilled with the 2008 Independence Bowl Hall of Honor induction class," said Independence Bowl Executive Director Missy Setters when the namers were announced in April. "We feel this is one of our strongest induction classes to date and we look forward to honoring these men who have made a huge mark in Independence Bowl history..."

Saban also led Michigan State into the 1995 Independence Bowl.

Click on the video to see coverage from Raycom Media sister station KSLA in Shreveport.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press contributed to this report. All Rights Reserved.)