SEC coaches pre-season All-SEC football team announced

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (July 21, 2008) - The LSU Tigers led all teams with 14 players selected to the 2008 Southeastern Conference Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team, announced today.

Florida was the only other SEC team with double figure selections with ten.  There were first, second and third-teams selected for this year's coaches pre-season squad.

Georgia had nine players selected to the three squads followed by Alabama, Auburn and South Carolina with eight and Tennessee had seven.  Kentucky had five selections while Ole Miss and Mississippi State had four each, Arkansas had three and Vanderbilt had two.

Florida led all schools with five first-team selections followed by LSU and Tennessee with four each.  Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Ole Miss and South Carolina each had two players selected to the first-team while Arkansas, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt each had one first-team selection.

Eleven of the 12 SEC teams had first-team selections and every conference school has representatives on the All-SEC squad.

There were six unanimous first-team selections to the squad.  The group includes a quartet of offensive linemen - Alabama's Andre Smith, Arkansas Jonathan Luigs, Ole Miss' Michael Oher and Tennessee's Anthony Parker.  Other unanimous choices were Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno, Ole Miss defensive lineman Greg Hardy and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes.  Since coaches cannot vote for their own players, unanimous choices were listed on 11 of the 12 ballots.

Of the 81 student-athletes named to the first, second and third teams, six are sophomores, 35 are juniors and 40 are seniors.

Ole Miss offensive lineman Michael Oher, Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs and Mississippi State defensive back Derek Pegues were repeat first-team selections from the 2007 Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team.

This is the fifth year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team.  It is released in advance of the 2008 SEC Football Media Days, which will be held July 23-25, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala.  Media in attendance at SEC Football Media Days will vote on the All-SEC Team and a predicted order of finish for the league.

The entire listing of the 2008 SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team is available by clicking here.