State Ethics Commission votes on Chapman complaint - WSFA.com Montgomery Alabama news.

State Ethics Commission votes on Chapman complaint

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (WSFA) - The State Ethics Commission has voted to end the case brought against Secretary of State Beth Chapman.

The panel said there was insufficient evidence to continue it.

The commission voted 4-1 Wednesday on a complaint filed by former attorney general candidate Mark Montiel.

Montiel complained that Chapman raised campaign donations after winning the secretary of state's race in 2006 and used the money to pay nearly $42,000 to her business and family members.

Chapman says the payments were proper expenditures for work done in the campaign.

"I can tell you that we were up for the challenge, we are very grateful it is over," Chapman told WSFA 12 News. "And as I told them earlier what man has meant for bad, God has made good. And I am very, very grateful my name was cleared today."

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. WSFA 12 News contributed to this report. All Rights Reserved.)

  • Trending StoriesTrending StoriesMore>>

  • Police: 8 dead in truck, 20 dire in immigrant smuggling case

    Police: 8 dead in truck, 20 dire in immigrant smuggling case

    Sunday, July 23 2017 5:50 AM EDT2017-07-23 09:50:46 GMT
    Sunday, July 23 2017 10:52 AM EDT2017-07-23 14:52:34 GMT

    Eight people have been found dead in a tractor-trailer outside a Walmart in Texas in what police are calling a tragic human trafficking case.

    More >>

    Eight people have been found dead in a tractor-trailer outside a Walmart in Texas in what police are calling a tragic human trafficking case.

    More >>
  • After Craigslist scam, man can't enter his own home

    After Craigslist scam, man can't enter his own home

    Saturday, July 22 2017 8:29 PM EDT2017-07-23 00:29:14 GMT
    Saturday, July 22 2017 8:29 PM EDT2017-07-23 00:29:14 GMT

    The people inside rented the home from a mystery person on Craiglist. As the law stands, because they refuse to leave, Keith Mills now has to go to court to prove he’s the rightful owner.

    More >>

    The people inside rented the home from a mystery person on Craiglist while owner Keith Mills was on vacation.. As the law stands, because the renters refuse to leave, Mills now has to go to court to prove he’s the rightful owner.

    More >>
  • NASA issues warning: You may have a bad pair of eclipse glasses

    NASA issues warning: You may have a bad pair of eclipse glasses

    Friday, July 21 2017 11:22 AM EDT2017-07-21 15:22:03 GMT
    The path of the total solar eciipse on August 21, 2017 crosses directly over Columbia and the Midlands. (Source: NASA)The path of the total solar eciipse on August 21, 2017 crosses directly over Columbia and the Midlands. (Source: NASA)

    As the world, the United States, and South Carolina prepared for arguably the coolest celestial event in decades, our old friends at NASA want you to know that pairs of unsafe solar eclipse glasses are being distributed. 

    More >>

    As the world, the United States, and South Carolina prepared for arguably the coolest celestial event in decades, our old friends at NASA want you to know that pairs of unsafe solar eclipse glasses are being distributed. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly