Alabama Academy of Honor accepting nominations for the Class of 2009

MONTGOMERY, AL.,  -- The Alabama Academy of Honor is inviting nominations for inductees into the Class of 2009. "Anyone may submit nominations to the Academy, and we welcome them," said Birmingham attorney and Academy chairman Tom Carruthers.
The State Legislature created the Alabama Academy of Honor on October 29, 1965, to bestow honor and recognition upon living Alabamians for their outstanding accomplishments and service.  Persons elected to membership are distinguished citizens of Alabama whose accomplishments and service have greatly benefitted or reflected great credit on the State.
Recent inductees have included Henry (Hank) Aaron, Harper Lee, Senator Richard Shelby, and former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.
Current members of the Academy will elect new members to be inducted at a ceremony at the State Capitol in October. The Academy is accepting nominations from the public until April 15, 2009.

Nomination forms are available online at the Department of Archives and History's website at or upon request by writing or calling the Academy's administrative offices:

Alabama Academy of Honor
c/o Department of Archives & History
Box 300100
Montgomery, AL 36130-0100
Telephone: (334) 242-4441