ASU’s Madlock named SWAC Men’s Basketball Newcomer of the Year

TJ Madlock
TJ Madlock(Alabama State University)
Published: Mar. 8, 2023 at 12:45 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (WSFA) - On Tuesday at the Southwestern Athletic Conference, it was announced that Alabama State University’s TJ Madlock has been named the SWAC Men’s Basketball Newcomer of the Year.

Madlock had a stellar debut season for Alabama State, averaging 11.2 points per game. He also contributed 6.0 rebounds per game and 2.9 assists per game.

The Memphis, Tenn., native scored in double figures 18 times, including a season-high 25 against UAB. Madlock had five double-digit rebound games with a season-high 13 versus Alabama A&M.

The sophomore ranks in the top 10 in the SWAC in 10 stat categories, ranking second in assist/turnover Ratio (1.28), fifth in minutes played (33:26), seventh in assists (91), eighth in assists per game (3.0), seventh field goal attempts (331), fourth in rebounds (185), fifth in defensive rebounds (4.6), seventh in rebounds per game (6.2), ninth in steals (42) and steals per game (1.4).

The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2022-23 All-SWAC Men’s Basketball teams and individual award winners on Tuesday evening. The league’s coaches and sports information directors voted on the all-conference honors.

Complete list of all-conference selections

All-SWAC First Team

  • Cameron Christon, Grambling State
  • Shaun Doss Jr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff
  • Dominic Brewton, Alcorn State
  • Will Douglas, Prairie View A&M
  • Terry Collins, Mississippi Valley State

All-SWAC Second Team

  • Shawndarius Cowart, Grambling State
  • Joirdon Karl Nicholas, Texas Southern
  • Zion Harmon, Bethune-Cookman
  • Jeremiah Kendall, Alcorn State
  • Brion Whitley, Southern

Co-Coach of the Year

  • Landon Bussie, Alcorn State

Co-Coach of the Year

  • Donte’ Jackson, Grambling State

Player of the Year

  • Cameron Christon, Grambling State

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Olisa Blaise Akonobi, Alabama A&M

Newcomer of the Year

  • Antonio Madlock, Alabama State

Freshman of the Year

  • Zion Harmon, Bethune-Cookman

Not reading this story on the WSFA News App? Get news alerts FASTER and FREE in the Apple App Store and the Google Play Store!