President Obama signs Alabama Disaster Declaration

Published: Jan. 22, 2016 at 2:31 PM CST|Updated: Feb. 21, 2016 at 2:31 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MONTGOMERY, AL (WSFA) - President Obama has declared a major disaster exists in the state of Alabama. He has ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by the storms, which occurred during December 23rd through the 31st.

The declaration says federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis. These funds are available for emergency work and repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in the following counties:

Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Perry, Pike, Russell, St. Clair, Walker, and Winston.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Department of Homeland Security has named Elizabeth Turner as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in these affected areas.

FEMA says if results of further damage assessments show a need and if the state requests, additional designations may be made.

Copyright 2016 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.