Drought emergency declaration extended to River Region

Updated: Nov. 1, 2016 at 3:03 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MONTGOMERY, AL (WSFA) - The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs Office of Water Resources has increased the number of counties included in the emergency drought declaration.

All of the counties in north and central Alabama are now included in the emergency declaration. This includes Montgomery, Autauga, Elmore, Lowndes, Lee, Macon, and Tuscaloosa counties and more.

These counties were previously at the warning level.

ADECA officials say the drought is going to worse before it gets better. They aren't expecting any significant rain before the end of the year.

Copyright 2016 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.