State will split Montgomery school district in 2 during intervention

Published: Mar. 29, 2017 at 7:26 PM CDT|Updated: Mar. 30, 2017 at 8:26 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MONTGOMERY, AL (WSFA) - The Alabama State Department of Education has released details on how it will handle each school as part of its intervention into the Montgomery Public School System.

ALSDE will effectively split the system in two during the intervention after determining a state takeover of 27 'low-performing' schools was necessary. The other 29 schools will remain under MPS Board and Superintendent control.

Starting in April, ALSDE officials will host three 'Community Engagement Forums' during which they will give an overview to the public and will answer questions from the community.

Those meetings will take place on April 17, at Lee High School; April 25, at Lanier High School; and April 27, at Park Crossing High School. Each will run from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Jermall Wright, ALSDE's Manager of School Improvement, issued this tweet in regards to the news:

Schools that will be under state control include:

Elementary Schools
Chisholm Elementary School
Dannelly Elementary School
Davis Elementary School
Dunbar-Ramer Elementary School
Highland Avenue Elementary School
Highland Gardens Elementary School
Fitzpatrick Elementary School
Floyd Elementary School
Johnson Elementary School
King Elementary School
Morris Elementary School
Nixon Elementary School
Southlawn Elementary School

Middle Schools
Bellingrath Middle School
Brewbaker Intermediate School
Brewbaker Middle School
Capitol Heights Middle School
Fews Secondary Acceleration Academy (serves both middle and high school students)
Georgia Washington Middle School
Goodwyn Middle School
McKee Middle School
Southlawn Middle School

High Schools
G.W. Carver Senior High School
Jefferson Davis High School
Park Crossing High School
Robert E. Lee High School
Sidney Lanier Senior High School

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.