Races in Alabama's July 17 primary run-off elections

Races in Alabama's July 17 primary run-off elections

MONTGOMERY, AL (WSFA) - Alabamians headed to the polls on June 5 to fill out their choices in the state's primaries. But some of those races aren't a done deal. They'll need citizens to head back to the ballot box on July 17 to pick the winner of several run-off elections.

So which races still don't have a winner? Several actually, including some high-profile statewide positions.

Before we tell you about races you'll need to be prepared to vote for, we need to first throw a warning into all of this.

If you cast your primary vote in the Democratic primary, you can only vote in the Democratic primary run-offs. The same is true if you voted in the Republican primary. You can only vote in the Republican run-offs. You cannot cross over and vote in the opposite primary run-off.

Now, based on the ballot you cast in the primary, here are many of the races you need to know about. [Note: It's still unclear in some local races if a runoff will be required because the results are very close and the Alabama secretary of state has not certified the results. We will add those races in question as we confirm information from election officials]

Here are races that will need a run-off winner:

U.S. Congress (District 2) [Republican Primary]

Republican Martha Roby took on then-Democratic Congressman Bobby Bright in 2010 and beat him for the seat in a Tea Party wave. Fast forward eight years and Roby is facing Bright again, though this time as a Republican.

With five contenders in the Republican primary, no one earned the outright win on June 5. Roby came the closest with 39 percent of the vote to Bright's 28.

The winner will face Democrat Tabitha Isner in November.

Lt. Governor [Republican Primary]

Republicans Twinkle Cavanaugh and Will Ainsworth are vying for the state's No. 2 position to fill the lieutenant governor's office, which has been vacant since Kay Ivey became governor. Cavanaugh is currently the president of the Alabama Public Service Commission while Ainsworth is a state representative.

The winner of this race will go on to face Democrat Will Boyd.

Attorney General [Republican Primary]

Former Attorney General Troy King is looking to take back the job he once held, but current AG Steve Marshall is looking for a full term after being appointed to the seat by former Gov. Robert Bentley. One of these two will earn the Republican nomination on July 17.

Waiting to take on either of the GOP nominees in November will be Democrat Joseph Siegelman.

Agriculture Commissioner [Republican Primary]

Rick Pate and Gerald Dial are vying for the Republican nomination. Combined, they gathered 70 percent of the vote, though neither topped the majority mark to win outright in the primary race. Pate pulled 40 percent to Dial's 30.

The winner will take the office due to lack of a Democratic challenger in the general election.

Alabama Supreme Court (Place 1) [Republican Primary]

The Republican primaries failed to field an outright winner in one race for the state's supreme court, though the incumbent pulled 14 percent more votes than his second-place challenger.

Brad Mendheim was appointed to the Alabama Supreme Court by Gov. Kay Ivey. In seeking a full term, he gathered 43 percent of the vote.

Mendheim will face 13th Judicial Circuit Court Judge Sarah Stewart of Mobile in the run-off. She garnered 29 percent of the vote on June 5.

The winner will take the seat as there is no Democratic challenger.

Alabama Criminal Appeals (Place 2) [Republican Primary]

Another Republican primary run-off will involve the state's court of criminal appeals.

Chris McCool and Rich Anderson move on to the run-off election with McCool holding an 8-point edge from the primary (43-35). The candidate who siphons off the 23 percent of voters who wanted third-place finisher Dennis O'Dell to win will most likely win.

The winner of the run-off will win the general election because there is no Democratic challenger.

Alabama Civil Appeals (Place 1) [ Republican Primary]

Christy Edwards vs. Michelle Thomason

State Board of Education (District 2) [Republican Primary]

Melanie Hill vs. Tracie West

AL State Senate

District 13 (Lee County) [Republican Primary] - Randy Price vs. Mike Sparks

District 26 (Montgomery County) [Democratic Primary] - David Burkette vs. John Knight

AL State Representative

District 38 (Lee County) [Republican Primary] - Debbie Wood vs. Todd Rauch

District 78 (Montgomery County) [Democratic Primary] - Alvin Holmes vs. Kirk Hatcher

District 81 (Chilton, Coosa, Tallapoosa) [Republican Primary] - Terry Martin vs. Ed Oliver

District 82 (Lee, Macon, Tallapoosa) [Democratic Primary] - Pebblin Warren vs. Johnny Ford

District 83 (Lee County) [Democratic Primary] - Patsy Jones vs. Jeremy Gray

District 88 (Autauga, Elmore) [Republican Primary] - Will Dismukes vs. Al Booth

District 91 (Coffee County) [Republican Primary] - Rhett Marques vs. Lister Reeves

Barbour County Commission District 5 [Democratic Primary]

William Barnett vs. Fred Cooper

Chilton County Probate Judge [Republican]

Rex Cleckler vs. Jason Calhoun

Coosa County Commission Place 4 [Republican Primary]

Jodi McDade vs. Ronnie Joiner

Covington County Sheriff [Republican Primary]

Dennis Meeks vs. Blake Turman

Crenshaw County Board of Education District 5 [Democratic Primary]

Annie Zeigler vs. Wanda Pouncy

Dallas County Probate Judge [Democratic Primary]

Jimmy Nunn vs. Nicholas Switzer

Elmore County Circuit Clerk [Republican Primary]

Michael Dozier vs. Brian Justiss

Houston County Commission (District 3) [Republican Primary]

Rickey Herring vs. Jackie Battles

Lee County Commission (District 5) [Democratic Primary]

Richard LaGrand, Sr. vs. Arthur Dowdell, Sr.

Lowndes County Coroner [Democratic Primary]

Sandra Smith vs. Terrell Means

Lowndes County Probate Judge [Democratic Primary]

LaShandra Myrick vs. Debbie Dunkin-Webb

Macon County Probate Judge [Democratic Primary]

James Cooper vs. Tracey Moon

Montgomery County BOE 1 [Democratic Primary]

Frederick Turner vs. Marcus Vandiver

Montgomery County BOE 2 [Democratic Primary]

Brenda Irby vs. Clare Weil

Montgomery County BOE 5 [Democratic Primary]

Rhonda Oats vs. DeVona Sims

Montgomery County BOE 6 [Democratic Primary]

Robert Porterfield, Jr. vs. Claudia Mitchell

Perry County Board of Education (District 1) [Democratic Primary]

Eulas Kirtdoll, Sr. vs. Pamela Jackson

Pike County District Court Judge (Place 1) [Republican Primary]

Steven Curtis vs. January Ellis

Wilcox County Probate Judge [Democratic Primary]

Chris Stone vs. Britany Jones-Alexander

Wilcox County Commission (District 3) [Democratic Primary]

Michael Saulsberry vs. Alfred Mack

Copyright 2018 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.